ChurchesBishopstonCity CentreWestbury

Our story so far

Below is a short summary of the history of Emmanuel Bristol.

Summer 2006

Team at Christ Church Clifton, headed up by Mike Cain, begin planning church plant.

Autumn 2006

People sign up to come to the church plant.

January 2007

Core congregation of around 50 people start meeting together to get to know one another and pray.

March 2007

Emmanuel meets for the first time at Badminton School.

July 2009

Emmanuel appoints Ed Shaw as associate pastor.

September 2009

Emmanuel moves to larger site of Red Maids’ Senior School.

January 2011

Emmanuel has its first church weekend away.

January 2011

Emmanuel is granted a Bishop’s Mission Order by the Church of England and becomes an independent charity and church.

Summer 2011

Emmanuel begins preparing for a 2nd congregation.

September 2011

Emmanuel appoints Jim Walford as trainee pastor.

January 2012

Emmanuel Ashley Down planted, led by Jim Walford.

May 2014

Emmanuel Ashley Down moves to the Church of the Good Shepherd and becomes Emmanuel Bishopston.

June 2014

Ordination of Jim Walford as curate of Emmanuel Bishopston.

September 2014

Emmanuel City Centre planted, led by Ed Shaw.

September 2014

Sim Jemmett heads up a group of people to partner with Emmanuel Chapel Henbury.

May 2016

Emmanuel Westbury takes up temporary residence in URC Henleaze while the Denmark Hall, Red Maids’ school is demolished and rebuilt.

January 2017

Emmanuel Bristol purchases the Meeting House on Narrow Lewins Mead in the city centre. The Emmanuel Meeting House, as it is now called, provides a home for Emmanuel City Centre as well as providing a base of operations for the whole Emmanuel family of churches during the week.

July 2017

Our partnership with Emmanuel Chapel Henbury comes to an end on good terms, with Sim Jemmett returning to Emmanuel Westbury.

For more information on The Memorandum and Articles of Association of Emmanuel Bristol or for further details on the Bishop’s Mission Order, ask a member of the Steering Team.